How to Help Our Kids Love God’s Word

How to Help Our Kids Love God’s WordDr. David JeremiahDR. DAVID JEREMIAH

December 15, 2016

Facebook Twitter

“And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.” Deuteronomy 6:6-7 (NKJV)

She was late.

We had agreed to meet at 6:30 and it was almost 7 when I finally saw my teenage daughter strolling through the mall toward where I sat, waiting. Now I’d be late to my board meeting.

Devotion Graphic

In my frustration, I did what many of us parents have done — I reacted and jumped to a wrong conclusion.

When we got home, the truth came out that her watch was broken. She thought she had indeed arrived on time. Gulp.

I penitently made my way to her bedroom where I heard her sniffling and knocked.

“May I come in?”

“Yes,” she said.

“Honey, I am sorry,” I began. “I blew it. I didn’t even ask you. Can you ever forgive me?”

She looked up at me through her tears and said, “Sure Dad, everyone makes mistakes.” We held each other for a few minutes, and I went on to my meeting.

My children are grown now. All four of our children are married and have families of their own, but I have to admit there were some days I wasn’t sure we would get here. Click here to read the rest of this article.

About Erin Marie

God's girl. Wife. Mother. Zebra - rare illness warrior.
This entry was posted in Blog, Convictions, Hope, Parenting, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

