Pretending I’m Fine or Proving I’m Right.

This message really spoke to me. The Father has been working in me, especially in this area.

I wanted to share this beautiful and wisdom – containing insight with all of you.

We all go through this, in some way at some point.

If we all allowed this to settle in our core and intentionally practiced this…

Imagine how our relationships would be transformed.

Imagine how our broken ones could be restored.


by Lysa TerKeurst
“But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace‑loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.” James 3:17 (NIV)

If someone says something or does something that hurts me, what is the godly response? Is it to pretend like everything is fine so I can keep the peace? Or is it to confront the person to prove how wrong they are?

Neither.

If ever I catch myself pretending or proving, I know I’m processing my hurt the wrong way.

The godly way is approaching this situation with soul integrity — responding in a way that’s honest but also peacemaking. James 3:17 says, “But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure (honest); then peace‑loving …” Yes, I want this kind of wisdom — this soul integrity. I want to be honest and peacemaking at the same time. But how?

I must remember I need real honesty combined with real peacemaking.

Real Honesty.
Not all honest expressions of my feelings can be categorized as “real honesty.” To read the rest of this article, click here.

About Erin Marie

God's girl. Wife. Mother. Zebra - rare illness warrior.
This entry was posted in Blog, Convictions, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

